The Laws of Technology

Standard

The First Law of Inventions: Every invention designed to fulfill a need creates one or more new problems.

So, my computer died. It simply stopped working Wednesday when I turned it on, and now I have no idea what is wrong. Thankfully I have a dedicated computer for work; otherwise I would be panicking. Instead, I am merely frustrated and ticked off because not only do I have to figure out what is wrong but I must also face the possibility of shelling out money for replacement parts.

It’s weird in a way. I never had this issue when I first moved out on my own, if only because I didn’t have a computer at the time. I found other things to occupy myself and did quite well otherwise; of course, if one of those things had broken down it would presumably have been just as tragic. I am surrounded by books I could just as easily read in the absence of my computer, but I don’t think about them: I want my computer back, damnit!

The Second Law of Inventions: The desire for a modern invention is proportional to its complexity.

I have always been fascinated by technology. I have no idea why that is so; perhaps it is due to having a foot in the times before and after computers made their entrance into the public consciousness. I remember life before computers, cell phones, Bluetooth, &c., and it still strikes me as amazing that we’ve come so far in so little a time. I remember reading somewhere that half of the inventions made by humans have been made in the last 200 years (or something to that effect); progress has been moving upwards at a exponential rate and shows no signs of stopping. Of course, it is foolish to think it will terminate at some point; human beings are driven to understand things and when understanding them means creating something to help us, you can bet something will definitely be made.

However, somewhere along the line we developed a want to own, and now we’re stuck in a spiral of keeping up with the Joneses. Everyone absolutely must have the latest iPhone, the newest computer system, the most advanced vehicle…we strive to own things rather than understand them, the end result being we have stuff we can’t fix if they break. I barely understand the inner workings of my computer; I built it without understanding the programming that connects each part to the whole, and this hinders my ability to repair it.

I had to replace the AC blower fan in my car and had no idea how to do it. YouTube came to the rescue and I was able to figure it out through the actions of another (and was successful in replacing it, I am happy to report). Little by little I am learning about the devices around me and that is a positive thing. I won’t become a mechanic or computer guru, but I can get close.

Oh well. I will call my uncle and beg his assistance since he is the family computer wizard and I’m his favorite nephew. Hopefully I will be able to get it back up and running in short order; in the meantime I will read my “primitive” books and play on my “obsolete” PS3.

2 thoughts on “The Laws of Technology

  1. Here’s the thing – I have taken numerous computers to bits and fixed them – and in recent times I have almost always used YouTube to guide me. And I’m a professional developer…

Leave a comment